Hide menu

Welcome to the Department of
Computer and Information Science

IDA Alumni won the UIST 2014 Lasting Impact Award

Per Ola Kristensson and Shumin Zhai have received the ACM User Interface Software and Technology (UIST) Lasting Impact Award for the paper SHARK2: a large vocabulary shorthand writing system for pen-based computers. The paper was written at IDA and was published at UIST 2004. The citation reads: "Awarded for its scientific contribution of algorithms, insights, and user interface considerations essential to the practical realization of large-vocabulary shape-writing systems for graphical keyboards, laying the groundwork for new research, industrial applications, and widespread user benefit".

Follow the first Wilkes award winners!

Tova Linder and Lisa Nilsson Ax who were awarded the 2013 Wilkes stipendium in connection with the IDA 30 years celebration, commenced their trip to USA with a visit to NY with a tour at Columbia university, Phoenix for participation in the Grace Hopper conference, and Mountain view to visit Google. Follow them on #IDAgirltrip or their blog.

The department's founder honoured

Professor Emeritus Erik Sandewall has had a pioneering role at Linköping university and our department, as the first professor in computer science in Sweden, and one of the founders of the department. The traces left behind and the road ahead are visualised in a statue that was raised to honour Erik Sandewall and the birth of computer science in Sweden.

Page responsible: Webmaster